Who we are

The Department of Nursing Sciences was initially a department in the faculty of Medicine for close to 38 years under the Chairmanship of Mrs. Margaret Muiva and the late Dr. Joyce Musandu. The Department offered Diploma in Advance Nursing and now offers training of nurses both at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

The administrative unit of the Department of Nursing Sciences is the Chairs’ office headed by Director Dr. Miriam C.A. Wagoro.  Functionally, the Department has four Thematic Areas namely: Medical/ Surgical Nursing, Obstetrics /Midwifery and Gynaecological Nursing, Community Health Nursing and Nursing Education & Administration.