Brief History

The University of Nairobi, a body corporate established under the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012 and the University of Nairobi Charter, 2013

The Department of Nursing Sciences was established in 1968 as the Department of Advanced Nursing under the Faculty of Medicine. In the year 2006, it became a School of Nursing Sciences under the College of Health Sciences . With the governance reforms currently  at the University of Nairobi, it was renamed the Department of Nursing Sciences headed by the Chairman of Department.

The Department has four (4) Thematic units namely: Medical Surgical Nursing, Obstetrics /Midwifery and Gynaecological Nursing, Community Health Nursing and Nursing Education & Administration.